{Wedding Traditions} – something blue …

As I am starting to process the images from Linda and Bill’s wedding, I came across this one …

Of course, I had to look up the history of this tradition (the complete phrase being “‘something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue and a silver sixpence in your shoe”), and came upon this explanation (from WeddingGuideUK.com), which says:

“Wearing something blue dates back to biblical times when the colour blue was considered to represent purity and fidelity. Over time this has evolved from wearing a blue clothing to wearing a blue band around the bottom of the bride’s dress and to modern times where the bride wears a blue or blue-trimmed garter.”

Linda had a handkerchief, trimmed with blue lace, as her something blue … I wonder what my next bride will have? And will they have a sixpence in their left shoe, which supposedly brings wealth …?

One thought on “{Wedding Traditions} – something blue …

  1. Aah so that’s where I went wrong…no sixpence in my shoe. Oh well, next time I’ll make sure I have a sixpence (and a rich fiancé) 😉

    Gorgeous capture, Sam. Can’t wait to see the rest!

    Like

Leave a Reply

