There once was a windmill … {a different kind of product photography}

Those of you who follow my blog know that I am intrinsically a people photographer. However, I also photograph for magazines and websites too. I was contacted by a company who needed images of the weatherboarding on a windmill … but no people. Undeterred, I headed off on a beautiful sunny day at the end of last year (so lucky with the weather that day), my long lens and a good idea of where the windmill was.

Windmill

However, when you approach the high street over which the windmill looks, you can’t see it. It’s only when you turn a corner that it suddenly is visible … I would have felt a bit foolish if I’d returned home and phoned my client to say that I couldn’t find a windmill …

It did feel a little strange not having a bride in a veil or a model creating beautiful shapes to photograph … but a bit of variety isn’t a bad thing! If you are looking for images for your website and want to have something that isn’t taken from a stock photography library, drop me a line sam@samanthajonesphotography.co.uk and tell me more about your project.

Leave a Reply

